Traffic Diversion Information
Broome County Traffic Diversion Program
The Broome County District Attorney launched a new and expanded Traffic Diversion Program in 2016, whereby motorists charged with certain non-serious speeding, moving, and equipment violations may attend a traffic safety course approved by the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles in lieu of a conviction for the traffic offense. Upon the successful completion of this traffic safety course, the motorist's traffic ticket will be dismissed, there will be no fine or surcharge, and there will be no record of conviction on the motorist's driving record. The program was approved by the Broome County Legislature.
*** Please note: We will only accept Traffic Diversion Applications that have been submitted via this website. We will not accept any application forms that have been obtained through another website or that have been printed and filled out by hand or by a PDF filler application.
The revenue generated from the program helps fund the city, town and village courts, as well as aid to prosecution, aid to law enforcement, drug treatment programs, and crime victims services.
Upon acceptance to the program a motorist will be given 45 days to complete a 6 hour traffic safety course approved by the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles. This course may be completed in a traditional classroom format, or online. After the motorist successfully completes the course, he or she will receive a certificate of completion from the course, a copy of which must then be forwarded to the District Attorney's Office within the 45 days. There will be a non-refundable application fee for admittance to the diversion program, the fee schedule is outlined below.
Please click on the topic names to expand.
To be eligible to enter the traffic diversion program, a motorist must meet the following eligibility requirements:
- The motorist must not have previously completed the Broome County Traffic Diversion Program within the preceeding 18 months.
- The motorist must not have been involved in a motor vehicle crash at the time the motorist received the ticket that he/she is seeking to have dismissed.
- The motorist must not have had his/her license suspended for failing to answer the ticket he/she seeks to have dismissed through the diversion program.
- The motorist must have answered and plead not guilty to the ticket.
- No Misdemeanor Offenses are eligible.
- Speeding offenses wherein the motorist is charged with going 30 miles per hour or less over the speed limit are eligible, unless the ticket was for speeding in a construction zone (V.T.L. 1180f) or speeding in a school zone (V.T.L. 1180c), in which case the ticket is not eligible for traffic diversion.
- All equipment violations are eligible excluding misdemeanors and overweight truck violations. Uninsured Motorist in violation of V.T.L. 319.1 is not eligible.
- All moving violations are eligible excluding Failure to stop for a school bus (VTL 1174)
- Driving While Ability Impaired by Alcohol is not eligible.
- Seatbelt violations are eligible.
- Using a Cell Phone without a Hands-Free Device and Texting While Driving in violation of V.T.L. 1225-C and V.T.L. 1225-D, both five point infractions are eligible, however the application fee is increased to $400 per ticket for these offenses.
There will be a non-refundable application fee of $200 per ticket for all eligible offenses except for using a mobile phone or a portable electronic device while driving in violation of V.T.L. 1225-C or 1225-D, speeding in a school or construction zone in violation of V.T.L. 1180f or 1180c, or all other speeds greater than 20 mph over the speed limit. The fee for a V.T.L. 1225-C, 1225-D, 1180c, 1180f, or other speed greater than 20 mph over the speed limit ticket is $400 per ticket. Examples: If a motorist is charged with speeding, 15 miles per hour over the speed limit, and failure to signal, the fee would be $400, or $200 per ticket. If a motorist is charged with speeding, and using a cell phone, the fee would be $600, $200 for the speeding ticket and $400 for the cell phone ticket. If a motorist is charged with speeding, using a cell phone, and failure to wear a seatbelt, the fee would be $800, $200 each for the speeding and seatbelt ticekts and $400 for the cell phone ticket. Any motorist who submits false information with their application will be denied or terminated from the program and will not have their application fee refunded.
Please note: We will only accept Traffic Diversion Applications that have been submitted via this website. We will not accept any application forms that have been obtained through another website or that have been printed and filled out by hand or by a PDF filler application.
Before applying, make sure that you have mailed in a plea of not-guilty to the court in which you are charged. Failure to do so could result in the suspension of your license by the court.
Please note: We will only accept Traffic Diversion Applications that have been submitted via this website. We will not accept any application forms that have been obtained through another website or that have been printed and filled out by hand or by a PDF filler application.Online Traffic Diversion Application
If you are accepted into the traffic diversion program, you will be notified by mail of your acceptance. Once you receive this notice, you will have 45 days from the date on the notice to complete a New York State Department of Motor Vehicles approved traffic safety course. The course must be an approved course from the NYS DMV Point Insurance Reduction Program. A list of approved courses can be found here. If you have an out of state driver's license, please do not take the course with "American Safety Council," as they will not provide you with proof of completion. Please note, the fee for the traffic safety course is not included in the administrative fee to enter the diversion program.